Which countries are allowing visitors from the U.S.? –

Published On: Wed, Aug 25th, 2021

Which countries are allowing visitors from the U.S.?

U.S. vaccinations continue rising and Americans are flying in greater numbers than they have all year. But not every country is welcoming U.S. citizens.

NBC News is tracking travel restrictions in countries around the world. Here is what travelers need to know, as of August 24. Note that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention state that you should not travel internationally until you are fully vaccinated.

  • More than 50 countries, including Belize, El Salvador, Thailand and Ukraine, are fully open to U.S. travelers and tourists.
  • Six countries are completely closed to Americans, including Uruguay and New Zealand.
  • The remaining countries fall somewhere in between, including countries with open borders but under a “Do Not Travel” advisory from the U.S. State Department, and countries open only to vaccinated travelers. There are also countries that offer exceptions for dual-citizens, residents or those with qualifying travel reasons.
  • More than 160 countries require a negative Covid-19 test from travelers.
  • More than 80 countries have some sort of quarantine requirement.
  • More than 60 countries have some sort of curfew in effect.

See the map below for each country’s travel details. This map will be updated in the weeks ahead as circumstances change.

Source link